Race for a Cause

Looking for the courage to sign up for a race or the motivation to make it to the finish line? We have you covered! Whether you're looking for a group to train with or a cause to add depth to your experience, Twin Cities In Motion has a variety of options to ignite your fitness journey.

Training Teams

Life Time Run - Official marathon training team, Life Time Run, has designed a training program that is educational, entertaining, and challenging, while motivating beginning and veteran marathoners alike. Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon training begins in June, with pre-season team runs beginning in May, but you may join at any time! Email info@lifetimerun.com for more information.

Charity Program

Better yourself AND your community. Add meaning to your miles by participating in our community and charity programs! Nearly 30 charities are signed up with official programs for the Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon and Medtronic TC 10 Mile; check them out below and make your race part of something bigger.

To benefit a charity, please contact the organization listed below BEFORE you register. You will not be able to transfer onto a charity team after you register.

If you have been recruited by a Charity Partner, use the password/code provided to you from your Charity Partner captain to place yourself on the team during registration. Selecting the charity interest dropdown within the marathon registration form will not place you with a charity. You must register with the code to join.

Have another cause in mind?

Let us know if you're raising funds for a cause on your own! Click here to set up a new fundraising page or email us if you have one already started! Email Kelli Haapala, Volunteer & Community Outreach Manager, kelli@tcmevents.org to share your cause or to learn how you can maximize fundraising efforts through TCM's Official Charity Program!

Preferred Charities - TCM Community Partners

Bolder Options

Bolder Options is an innovative program focused on healthy youth development. Uniting one-on-one mentoring with goal setting, physical activity, tutoring, and leadership opportunities the program builds confidence, maximizes potential, and encourages healthy life skills. 

Rob Lyons, rob.lyons@bolderoptions.org 612.379.2653 ext. 221

Girls on the Run Twin Cities

Girls on the Run Twin Cities, Inc. inspires girls in the 3rd to 5th grades to be joyful, healthy and confident by combining training for a 3.1 mile race with important lessons about body image, healthy living, friendship and more. It takes an entire community to empower young girls to live to their potential.

Kelsey McKenna, kelsey.mckenna@girlsontherun.org 202-631-2840

MIGIZI Communications

MIGIZI Communications advances a message of success, well-being and justice for the American Indian community. This mission is carried out through program elements in media and telecommunications via First Person Productions and education activities including academic, cultural, and health and wellness education through our Native Academy program.

Graham Hartley, ghartley@migizi.org 612-721-6631 x208

YWCA of Minneapolis

YWCA of Minneapolis works to fulfill their mission of eliminating racism and empowering women. YWCA of Minneapolis girls and youth programs focus on the strengths of young people and challenge them to expect and create great things in their lives.

Andrew Hossalla, ahossalla@YWCAmpls.org 612-215-4345

Team USA Minnesota

Team USA Minnesota is based in the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul. The Distance Training Center is a coordinated effort to bring local resources together to improve post-collegiate American distance running and develop Olympians. It was formed in January 2001 and began selecting athletes - primarily from Minnesota and the Upper Midwest - in April of that year. The Team USA Minnesota Distance Training Center builds on the state's long and proud history of producing talented runners and Olympians.

Patricia Goodwin, pfgoodwin@sprynet.com 952-454-8876

Premier Charity

Team World Vision

Team World Vision is dedicated to working with children, families, and their communities worldwide to reach their full potential by tackling the root causes of poverty and injustice.

Sinead Barry-Lukas, teamworldvision@worldvision.org 888-573-LIFE (5433)
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Major Charity

Achieving Cures Together

Peter Westerhaus, info@achievingcures.com, 763-259-5766
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Associate Charity

UnitedHealthcare Children's Foundation

Katie Monroe, katie.monroe@uhc.com, 855-698-4223
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Partnering Charities

National Multiple Sclerosis Society – Upper Midwest Chapter

Katya Morrell, katya.morrell@nmss.org, 612-335-7919
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Venture

Candace Hurckman, Candace@venture.org, 612-704-1394.
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Participating Charities

Be the Match Foundation

Elicia Bechard, ebechard@NMDP.ORG, 763-406-8230
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Children's Cancer Research Fund

Lan Freitag, lfreitag@childrenscancer.org 952-224-8490
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Children's Minnesota

Brady Gervais, brady.gervais@childrensmn.org 952-992-5512
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Dress for Success Twin Cities

Joey Fink, teamwork@dressforsuccesstwincities.org 612-396-0936
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Project Purple

Dino Verrelli,dino@projectpurple.org, 203-714-6052
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Team Red, White & Blue

Jason Virkus, jason.virkus@teamrwb.org
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Twin Cities Habitat for Humanity

Jackie Peak, jackie.peak@tchabitat.org 612-305-7124
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Wild and Free Foundation

Molly Yates, mollyy@travelbeyond.com 952-540-4114

Contributing Charities

Alzheimer's Association

Maura Studer, mstuder@alz.org 952-767-7564
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

American Cancer Society

Amy Sundberg, amy.sundberg@cancer.org 651-255-8113
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Children's Brain Tumor Foundation

Kayla Giacin, kgiacin@cbtf.org 212-448-9494
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

CureSearch For Children's Cancer

Brecka Putnam, challenge@curesearch.org 800-458-6223
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Davis Phinney Foundation

Lauren Kehn, lkehn@dpf.org 720-259-0907
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Jack's Basket

651-456-8321, info@jacksbasket.org

For more information, please click here to visit their website. [here’s the link as well: https://www.jacksbasket.org/]

Lymphoma Research Foundation

Kea Paddy, 646-465-9100, kpaddy@lymphoma.org

For more information, please click here to visit their website. [here’s the link as well: http://support.lymphoma.org/goto/TwinCities]

National Brain Tumor Society

Nikki Margeson, nmargeson@braintumor.org, (617) 237-1744
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

National Kidney Foundation

Carly Hodes, carly.hodes@kidney.org, 651-636-7300
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Open Your Heart to the Hungry & Homeless

Jessica Mathias, jmathias@oyh.org 612-338-5577
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Reach Out and Read MN

Kris Hoplin, kris@reachoutandreadmn.org 612-250-1217 
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Still Kickin

Lindsay Wenner, lindsay@stillkickin.co
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society - Team In Training

Kelsey Kidd, kelsey.kidd@lls.org, 914-821-3288
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

Unite 2 Fight Paralysis

Matthew Rodreick, matthewrodrieck@u2fp.org, 612-834-5472
For more information, please click here to visit their website.

USTA Northern

Sandy Smith, ssmith@northern.usta.com,952-358-3288
For more information, please click here to visit their website.