Twin Cities in Motion

College Scholarship Program

The Twin Cities In Motion College Scholarship program awards a $5,000 scholarship to one female and one male 12-county metro area high school senior who participate in cross-country or track.

Download a 2017 College Scholarship Application

Twin Cities In Motion's College Scholarship Program awards a $5,000 scholarship to one male and one female high school senior cross-country or track participant. Eligible candidates must reside in the twelve-county metro area: Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Washington, and Wright counties.


The one-time grant is awarded based on academic performance shown through both grades and the strength of the applicant's curriculum, leadership at school or in a peer group, a commitment to community service or helping others, and a dedication to maximizing running potential. TCM seeks scholarship applications at the start of each calendar year and names the winners in early May.


Twin Cities In Motion’s College Scholarship Program is one of the organization’s community outreach initiatives that include the Medtronic TC Kids Marathon, a community-wide effort that inspires healthy lifestyles among children, and the High School Running Shoe Program, which provides running shoes to high school cross country and track athletes in need.



Recipients to be announced in May. 


Scholarship Requirements and Information
  • Student athletes of all abilities are encouraged to apply 

  • $5,000 scholarship to graduating high school male & female

  • Applicants must have participated in cross country and/or track running event 800 meters or longer 

  • Applicants must have current cumulative high school GPA of 3.0 or above

  • Applications must be postmarked no later than March 1, 2016

  • Applicants will be notified in May

  • Participation is limited to student athletes living in or attending high school in the Twin Cities twelve-county metro area to include: Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Washington, and Wright counties. 

  • The successful scholarship candidate shall demonstrate quality academic performance shown through a combination of grades, level of difficulty of curriculum; be a proven leader in the candidate’s school or peer group; demonstrate sincere commitment to some form of community service or helping others; and show that the candidate has maximized their running potential.

Previous College Scholarship Winners


Carissa Dock (Waconia High School) and Joe Esenther (Holy Family Catholic High School)



Fiona Montie (Stillwater Area High School) and Ephraim Bird (Hope Academy)



Elizabeth Miller (Watertown-Mayer) and Marshal Landrum (Como Park)



Molly Ann Kuhs (Edina High School) and Ryan Trapp (Elk River High School )



Megan Kilbride (Lakeville South) and Jensen Orlow (Holy Family Catholic)



Hannah Borowsky (Hopkins) and Aaron Bartnik (Eden Prairie)



Miranda Charley (North Branch) and J. Oliver Haugland (Wayzata)



Michelle Volz (Lakeville North) and Samual Seehof (Minnetonka)



McKenzie Melander (Eastview) and Pieter Gagnon (Minneapolis Washburn)



Alison Liewen (Minnetonka) and Kyle Robert Peterson (Watertown-Mayer)



Pictured above: 2008 TCM College Scholarship winner McKenzie Melander, winner of the 2012 TC 5K.